The Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition: Tradition Transformed

Thursday, October 8, 2015 to Sunday, December 6, 2015

 The Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition was created in recognition of Group of Seven member, and Orillia native Franklin Carmichael. Now in its 14th year, this juried show calls on artists from across the country to submit work that embraces, challenges, comments, critiques, echoes, challenges, re-works or strengthens images, perceptions and interpretations of Canadian landscape through the artist’s chosen medium.  Heavily rooted in Carmichael’s beliefs on traditionalism and classical modes of artistic expression, Carmichael himself was very much invested in contemporary artistic styles having been inspired by his native Canadian surroundings.

Join us October 8th for the exhibition's Opening Reception from 6-9pm. Opening remarks will be at 7:30pm with the presentation of the $1000 Kevin J. Batchelor Painting Prize. The Jurors' Prize of $2000, sponsored in part by Lakehead University, will be awarded by this year's jurors and a representative from Lakehead University at the opening reception of the Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition. The Dr. Robert Bennett People’s Choice Prize will be awarded at the end of the exhibition based upon your votes!

2015 Artists:

Peter Adams

Judy Archer

Jane Austin

Carolyn Doucette

Maria Flawia Litwin

Larry Glazer

Anita Granger

Jim Hake

Gita Karklins

Nicola McGarry

Will McGarvey

Megan Moore

Melissa Neil

Dan Nuttall

Rekha Ramachandran

Melissa Robertson

Liz Schamehorn

Richard Smolinski

Jesse Strong

Carl Vickers