Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition: Tradition Transformed

Friday, September 28, 2018 to Sunday, November 25, 2018

Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition:

Tradition Transformed

September 28 – November 25, 2018
Reception: September 28 | 7—9pm

The Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition was created in recognition of Group of Seven member, Franklin Carmichael, who was born in Orillia. Now in its 17th year, this juried show calls on artists from across the country to submit work that embraces, challenges, comments, critiques, echoes, challenges, re-works or strengthens images, perceptions and interpretations of Canadian landscape through the artist's chosen medium. Heavily rooted in Carmichael's beliefs on traditionalism and classical modes of artistic expression, Carmichael himself was very much invested in contemporary artistic styles having been inspired by his native Canadian surroundings.

Submissions are now closed


Ted Fullerton

Emily McKibbon, Curator, Maclaren Art Centre

Juror's Prize - $2000
Kevin J. Batchelor Emerging Artist Award - $1000
The Paul Quarrington Multidisciplinary Arts Award - $500

2018 Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition Artists:

Peter Adams

Jane Austin

Amy Bagshaw

Anne Barkley

William Blakey

Mike Callaghan

Myles Calvert

Victoria Carley

Bruce Cull

Claire Domitric

Janice Feist

Linda Finn

Peter Fyfe

Sylvia Galbraith

Anita Granger

Vanessa Hall-Patch

Diana Hillman

Zackery Hobler

Janet Kimantas

Lilly Koltun

Heidi Leverty

Michelle Lewin

Erin McGean

Kelsey McGruer

Claudia McKnight

Irene Miller

Ella Morton

Eryn O’Neill

Laura Peturson

Andrea Pinheiro

Silvija Saplys

Byron Sheldrick

Kellen Spencer

Sonya Spilkin

Joanna Strong

Amy Alice Thompson

Ryan Van Der Hout

Drew Wallis

For information/Media Contact: Ninette Gyorody, Executive Director
705 326–2159 x101