artist Peter Stranks with his submission

Artist, Donna Chudnow with her 2021 submission, Seeing Green in the City, acrylic on canvas, 36” x 48”, 2020.


Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition: Tradition Transformed

Deadline: Tuesday, August 2, 2022      Jury Results: Final week of August

The Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition: Tradition Transformed was created in recognition of Group of Seven member, Franklin Carmichael, who was born in Orillia. Now in its 21st year, this juried exhibition calls on artists from across the country to submit work that reimagines the Canadian landscape through the artist’s chosen medium. While Carmichael believed in traditionalism and classical modes of artistic expression, he was very much invested in contemporary artistic styles having been inspired by his native Canadian surroundings.

The landscape is a place of unique national character and pride for Canadians of different and unique backgrounds, but is also a mirror that reflects change, settlement and environmental deterioration. Tradition Transformed marks the ever-changing landscape of the artist’s mind, fulfilling the Group of Seven’s aim to create a uniquely Canadian identity.

All media/approaches are most welcome.

Entry fee: There is an application fee of $35 (plus HST) per submission.  Artists can submit up to 3 times with one image for each entry. 


Juror’s Prize


Kevin J. Batchelor Emerging Artist 


Paul Quarrington Multidisciplinary Arts 



Peter Adams
Shannon Anderson
Tobi Asmoucha
Tiffany Blaise
Chelsea Brant
Linda Briskin
Christopher Cape
Donna Chudnow
Erin Fyfe Donnelly
Holly Fay
Jane Forrest
Richard Foster
Anita Granger


Sarah Hawley
Jessica Hein
David Holden
Sharon Hunter
Philip Jackman
Jelica Jovin
Gita Karklins
Paddy Lamb
Jane Lawrence
Alexandra Majerus
Bettina Matzkuhn
Tammy McClennan
Alan McCord

Kara McIntosh
Andrew McKay
Cindy J. Miller
George Novotny
Denesee Paul
Laura Peturson
Piera Pugliese
Brenda Mabel Reid
Tom Ridout
Ava Roth
Lori Ryerson
Trish Shwart
Julia Soderholm

Marta Stares
Peter H Stranks
Denise Strong
Irina Teske
Michael Trommer
Joanna Turlej
Anna Wagner-Ott
Isaac Watamaniuk
Janine Wheeler
Elayne Windsor
Lynn Wyczolkowski
Diana Yoo
Angela Zheng